Arora Zanzibar

Arora

All About Arora

Age:  I have been in SL since 2005 (not on this account though)

Hobbies: I love to blog and explore random places

Work:  I have a little store that I have had since 2009 called Zanzibar creationZ

Likes: Thinking outside the square, especially when it comes to my avatars look

Dislikes: facelights, facelights and more facelights – can they become extinct already?!

Well I really don’t know where to start with this post.  I have been told I have the “Gift of the Gab” and that I talk far too much but when it comes to talking about myself I seem to struggle for words.  I picked this day to have a post on the Connecting 365 SL Lives as it is my RL birthday and I thought it would be a nice little birthday present for myself.  I guess I’ll just start by expanding on my little little Bio above and go from there.

I joined SL in late 2005 after seeing a friend playing the game and I was intrigued to have a look for myself.  At first I just walked around like a total noob trying to figure out how to work everything and I even went as far as thinking – How stupid is this game if you can;t even get shoes for your avatar.  This was after “buying” a freebie pair of shoes that were boxed and me not realising that things came in boxes ‘wore’ the item and ended up with a box on my hand.  So I walked around barefoot for a few days and decided that SL wasn’t for me.

A while later, cleaning out my computer I came across the Second Life still installed on my PC and figure eh why not give it a go again.  I have been hooked ever since!  I have made some amazing friends along the way that have crossed over into RL and even met some of them.  I have relationships and did the whole wedding and kids and realised that just wasn’t for me.  SO many people say that their SL self is just like their RL self and for me that is somewhat true.  I am just like me in RL in regards to my personality, sense of humor and such but when it comes to style and looks – well it’s a fantasy world so why not live it as such.  I make myself look as far out there as I can sometimes and other times I just stand around on my little platform in the sky bald and naked.

SL for me has become a way of life in more ways than one.  In RL I am disabled.  I have many medical issues that keep me house bound and because of this I have no real social life.  I am able to connect with people and chat and have ‘fun’ in SL when I can’t in RL.  I have swapped phone numbers and addresses with my SL friends and last year I made the decision to travel around the globe to meet, for the first time, my SL partner.  I had my first white christmas!  As an Australian our christmas time is always summer, and stupidly hot.  So spending christmas surrounded by snow was a real eye opener.  I’m also happy to say that the meeting with my partner went so well that we are making plans to move in together later this year or early next year.

SL to me is not ‘just a game’.  I met the most wonderful, loyal, loving partner and I couldn’t be happier.  I have a social life again (well to a degree) and I have made friends that I could poke a stick at.  I don’t hide the fact that I have an online avatar or that I live in a virtual world daily, my RL friends and family are all aware of it and when I get visitor on the rare occasion I am always logging in to show them the newest things in world.  My aim in this is to try and get rid of the stereotypical “gamer life” thinking.  I’ve managed to convert a few friends and drag them in world for periods of time on their own accounts and even convinced my RL sister to start an account of her own.

After 7 and a half years in SL I have to say – I’m here till the end and I hope you all will be too.

Leave a Reply

