Tigist Sapphire

Tigist Sapphire 365_005Classic internal dialogue;

“You left it to the last minute didn’t you?”

“Well yes, but I’ve been sick for the last few days.”

“You’ve known about it since last year!  You have no excuse!”

“Wait, I broke my leg in January, doesn’t that count?”

Tigist Sapphire 365_004Yes, that was a literal internal dialogue that has been going through my head for the past few days.  Why do I have these internal dialogues?  One does not ask questions such as these, they are dangerous.  Back away slowly.

What can I tell you about me that will not cause the authorities to beat down my door, or cause someone to decide that litigation is the best path?

Ok let’s start from the beginning. Damn internal dialogue again

“What beginning?  Like, the beginning of time?  Your real beginning?  Your Second Life beginnings?  If you don’t specify, people will get pissed!”

“Seriously?  Can’t you just let me write what I want to write?”

Tigist Sapphire 365_001“No, because you have no idea what to write, I can tell, you’re spewing verbal diarrhea as per usual.  Isn’t that how you got through University?”

“Shut the hell up before I visit the doctor and get some meds to make you completely disappear!  Hear me?  That’s appear with a dis!”

Ok here goes nothing.  My name is Tigist Sapphire; I’ve been in Second Life for almost 3 years in earnest.  I did have an account, which now seems prior to the dawn of time, but upon logging in the first time on that account, I hated it and walked away for good.  What drew me back?  A very well meaning friend, who told me I’d love it.  Of course, I stated the plain fact that “but you can’t kill shit in it!”

No, you can’t kill shit really, but there are amazing things to do, fantastic things to explore, amazing people to meet, and heck, I’ve even found a secondary source of enjoyment, photography.

Tigist Sapphire 365_002I started taking pictures in second life by chance.  Shortly thereafter, I decided to revamp my long time blog (much to the chagrin of people who had been reading it for years) into a sort of a picture repository, simply for me and for the clothing designers I had been doing product boards for (You’ve probably seen quite a few floating around the grid and never even knew it was me who did them).

Then came, *cue the ominous music* fashion blogging.  What is this fashion blogging of which was spoken?  Review packs?  What’s a review pack?  The first time I received one of these tasty little gems…

“You crapped your pants!  HA I said it, you literally crapped your pants!”

 

“I did not crap my pants, I sent a message to the designer and asked why she sent it.”

“And what did see say?  Did she call you an idiot and explain why she sent it?”

“No, she told me that if I wanted to blog it, I could, but I should feel no obligation.  Then I had to figure out what “blogging it” meant.  That’s when I crapped my pants.”

“Knew there had to be crap involved somewhere.”

“Hmmm, dialing to make a doctor’s appointment right now.”

The whole first blogger pack incident was nearly 2 years ago, and since I’ve had the privilege to work with some absolutely amazing designers.  Yes, I said work with, simply because I see the designer and blogger relationship as a symbiotic one.  Designing isn’t easy, and neither is fashion blogging.  In the end, I don’t really see what I do as fashion blogging, I just take pictures.

Tigist Sapphire 365_003And that is pretty much my Second Life.  I seldom leave my studio, except when I’m dragged by the likes of my best friend Wolfie, my dear MM, or by my newly acquired family (Skipper, Bruiser, Fall, Bobula, Musical Fruit and Jorge). It might be a quiet life, but it’s my Second Life.

If you hear the bells, you know I’m not far away.  Jingle Jingle.

“If ever there is tomorrow when we’re not together… there is something you must always remember. You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. But the most important thing is, even if we’re apart… I’ll always be with you.”

“It is more fun to talk with someone who doesn’t use long, difficult words but rather short, easy words like “What about lunch?”

― A.A. Milne, Winnie the Pooh

2 thoughts on “Tigist Sapphire

  1. ❤ Your internal dialogue told my internal dialogue that leveling up on Second Life means we buy entire collections of pretty clothing… and cats.

Leave a Reply

