Guenevere DeCuir

365-PortraitMarch 27th… my official 6th Rez Day in Second Life. Six years doesn’t seem like a long time to most, but within the vast world of Second Life it seems like so much longer.

I actually heard about Second Life through an old friend who also just happens to be an amazing Comic Book Artist & Writer, Terry Moore. He mentioned that he was wandering around in it in his spare time and wanted others to explore it as well. He has always had good taste in pop culture so I decided I would check it out. Sadly he didn’t stick around, but I certainly did.

Since then, I have managed to do more than most dream of. I’ve been a Club DJ, Host, Dancer and Manager. I’ve owned my own business since 2008 which has let me push many boundaries as far as Graphic Design and 3d Design. I’ve become more open about myself and enhanced my writing skills thanks to an SL blog I’ve done since 2007 (currently on a hiatus). I’ve learned so much about photography through various blog challenges.

guenanduc01sl

But the greatest thing that I’ve done is meet so many amazing people from so many different walks of life whom also happened to come upon this strange yet exciting social medium known as Second Life. Some stay for a short while before returning to their regular lives away from the keyboard. Others have come to SL and are still amazed at what it can offer. Regardless of how long each of these people has crossed paths with me, I cherish every moment. Some I have even had the opportunity to meet away from the screen if only to gain a whole new and exciting perspective into whom they are.

The internet has made our world just a little bit smaller as we can now touch the lives of so many who are not within walking or driving distance. Someone from one country can find a deep friendship with someone in another halfway across the globe, and no one thinks twice about the differences in culture.

Lonesome-TLR

Do I regret anything I’ve done in the past 6 years? I’d be lying if I said I didn’t. Everyone has ups and downs with any sort of undertaking that he or she pours their heart into. Still… I know that one cannot grow without taking the good with the bad and learning from it, and I’ve learned so much.

I can’t wait to see what the next 6 years will bring…

Bio Stuff: Guen is from as they say in Highlander, “Lots of different places” but has made the Eastern US her home… for now. She spends almost every waking moment trying to explore, learn and have fun in both lives. Her RL family still doesn’t understand this whole “making stuff that doesn’t really exist” business she’s doing, but her SL family has been extremely supportive over the years.

Personal Blog: http://crimson-flow.blogspot.com

Store Blog: http://www.collisionsblog.com/

Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/guendecuir/

Plurk: http://www.plurk.com/GuenDeCuir

Inworld Store: http://slurl.com/secondlife/Dark%20Tranquility/136/211/23/

Leave a Reply

