Evelyn Hartshon

My 365.

It’s the night before I’m due to email my 365 to Katya. I’m sitting in bed with my laptop just starting at the screen. I’ve been trying to write this for days but I didn’t know what to write about. I typed things then erased them, then typed more things and erased those too. I started to write things about my last SL/RL relationship, how it ended, how I felt and things but really that was way too personal, so I’ll just tell you about my Second Life. Not many people that I know now, know about my Second Life past. I didn’t do anything dodgy or nasty to people but I did hurt people though. I said and did things that I’m not proud of, but I wouldn’t change them.

Evie 365 pic 3

I worked in clubs for most of my Second Life. I loved it. I loved talking to people, I loved the atmosphere, I loved music and I loved dancing. I worked my way up from dancer to hostess then to manager. I always thought about starting my own club, but it seemed like too much hard work, dedication and financially draining. So I scrapped that idea. Eventually, in January 2013, after a two and a half month holiday, I decided to quit working in clubs. I decided I don’t want a job in SL, I want to enjoy my time here and not have commitments and responsibilities.

In 2009 I set up my first store. I worked at Cafe Andromeda as a manager and I was entitled to a free parcel on the sim. Since it was a public sim, with other clubs and shops around, I didn’t want to put a house there, so I decided to open a shop. That first store was called ‘made by evie’. After a couple of months I re-branded to just ‘evie’. My store wasn’t well known or anything so the fact I re-branded wasn’t that much of a big deal. I made some pretty cute things but after a while I got bored and decided to re-brand again. I held a ‘name my store’ contest and the winning name was PomPomPom. It stayed like that for a while. Then I decided to close. I waved bye bye to PomPomPom and opened Sleeping Koala, with a whole new inventory. I’m finally happy with the name and probably won’t change it. The only thing that might change is whether or not I have a store inworld. If I do have to close, I’ll still make stuff but it’ll only be on marketplace, which will suck but better than nothing eh? It may not be amazingly popular, but I love it, and that’s all that matters! I’m proud of how far I’ve come and I really couldn’t have done it without the help of Soma Mayo, Dianne Peccable and Tyr Rozenblum. Those three are awesome!

Evie 365 pic 1

What else do I do in Second Life? I’m a hunt organiser. I run The Unknown Hunts. The first one was in 2010. It started out as a hunt for stores that aren’t well known, but it developed into hunts for new stores. They were pretty successful and I had some very happy merchants and hunters. The 7th Unknown Hunt was originally meant to be in November last year but because I was going to be on holiday, I decided to postpone it. It’s now scheduled for April 1st – 31st 2013. I have 30 amazing stores in this hunt and they all opened after June 1st 2012. I’m hoping to have more hunts later in the year and an awareness event for the Anthony Nolan charity is being planned for July.

Evie 365 pic 2

Bio: Evelyn Hartshon joined the crazy world called Second Life on 3rd November 2007. She spends most of her time, like many other bloggers and creators, on a platform in the sky. She hates writing about herself and would much rather write about clothes or other people.

Her Links

www.evelynhartshon.wordpress.com

www.bloggingsecondlife.wordpress.com

www.flickr.com/photos/evelynhartshon

www.sleepingkoalablog.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

