Lucie Bluebird

My Second Life and Real Life have been intertwined from the moment I was “born” in SL. In January 2009, my RL husband joined SL to get me out of YoVille (does anyone even remember YoVille?). He thought it was silly, and he’d very briefly had an SL account in 2004. It took me 4 tries to register, and I was on the verge of giving up. That’s a long story, and one I plan to explain on my blog at some point… but finally, on January 24, 2009, Lucie Bluebird was born. My life has never been the same.

My husband and I are an odd couple. We spend pretty much all of our time together. When we’re at our desks, we are on the phone (our offices are on different floors). He works from home. We have breakfast, lunch and dinner together every day. In July 2009 we opened an SL photography business together called DreamCatchers. The following May Embody was born. We got married in Second Life on our RL 5th wedding anniversary. It was really sweet. I can’t have kids in RL. We tried, for over two years. It just wasn’t going to happen. A lot of people like to mock the SL pregnancy experience, but for me it was therapeutic. I have had 3 SL pregnancies. The last time I had twins, a girl and a boy. I even did a RL length pregnancy and didn’t choose the babies genders or even find out. I wanted it to be as authentic as possible. Every year on Christmas we do a “family” Christmas card. It’s silly to some people – including my husband. But he loves me, so he humors me. It helps me cope with a difficult time of the year, and he understands that better than anyone else ever could.

True Love
True Love

Second Life actually helps me cope with a lot of RL issues, most notably the fact that in real life I live with chronic pain. I have fibromyalgia, and have for nearly 12 years now. It’s a huge bummerdog, to say the very least… but with SL I get to do things that have become impossible for me in RL. My only limitations in SL are the ones I impose on myself, and I like that because in RL I have so many uncontrollable external forces acting against me. In SL I have a successful business I run with the man I love. I’ve also made some unbelievably amazing friends in SL. My sisters AliannaMarie GossipGirl and Isley Oodles… we’re the Posh Orphan Sisters. We have a whole story and everything. My very best friend in the whole wide world Rosalie Bouscario… and she is my BFF in either world. I don’t care if we’ve never met in person (though we probably will this year!). She knows me and understands me in ways so few ever have. There are a lot of amazing people I’ve had the honor of becoming close to in SL… people I’d never have met otherwise, and I am seriously grateful for the opportunity SL provided me. The truth is, in RL I am pretty antisocial. I don’t have any friends in the state I live in now (a downside of going to school online). For the most part, I don’t really mind that, but if I didn’t have SL friends to share, shop and goof off with… well, I think it would be a different story.

Best Friends
Best Friends

I don’t know what the future holds for me in either life. I have dreams and plans, but life is a fickle mistress, and experience has taught me to not put too much stake in any of that. So instead, I try to live for the now, and enjoy every moment of happiness, love and frivolity I am fortunate enough to experience. I thank all the people who have been a part of this incredible journey with me.

Just Me
Just Me

Bio: In RL I am a grad student studying to be a teacher. I also blog in RL and SL. In both worlds I’m married to an incredible man who makes every day, no matter how awful or hard, worth living. I love writing, art, photography and being a dork.
SL Blog: http://luciebluebird.wordpress.com/
Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/dream_catchers/
Embody (in world): http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Woodland%20Park/129/210/22

One thought on “Lucie Bluebird

Leave a Reply

