Reema Xue

Reema3

For a long time I have felt I’ve never really fully belonged anywhere in my Real Life.

I’m ‘dual-cultured’ for want of a better word, the  most simple way I can explain it is when I’m with my Father’s side of the family, I sometimes feel too ‘Western’ and when I’m with my Mothers family I can feel too ‘Eastern’. It’s stupid I know but always been a thing for me.

One of the main enjoyments I have with my Second Life experience is that it feels just that –  a Second Life, a chance to breathe and try to be me in a way I haven’t before. It probably sounds stupid but I feel I could be anywhere inworld, wearing anything I wish, and belong and not be seen as different, but just, belong.

Reema Profile

Don’t get me wrong, I have a lot of blessings in my Real Life and I am so very grateful that I have such a background, I wouldn’t have it any other way. But SL provides me with a wonderful, judge free level, It’s a refreshing change and I absolutely love it this way.

Has Second Life changed me and how I am?

Yes, in so much of a bigger sense than I ever thought it would.

I have learnt a hell of a lot about myself, and by allowing myself to trust and open up and show the real me, I feel that I’ve grown as a person. In every sense.

 Reema1

I have formed friendships and love here that isn’t just purely SL,  and am just beginning to get into pic taking inworld which I cannot tell you how much I am enjoying.

I feel I have learnt a lot of life lessons through SL…does that sound stupid?

Shouldn’t life lessons be learnt in REAL life?

Nope, I have found myself learning things left right and centre, about myself, love, friends, mistakes, hurt and loyalty, so much so that SL and RL are not separate in my eyes anymore.

I have learnt how open hearted people can be on here and how giving someone a chance can either make a person or break a person.

I am really enjoying everything so much more now and getting to know everyone so much more.

I will end this with a phrase that one of my good friends here uses as a phrase, she has always believed that Second Life is a place where ‘it’s okay to not be okay’. It’s a wonderful saying, it’s amazing how so few words can make so much sense.

Best of both worlds? YES! I think so!

My Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/reema786/

Leave a Reply

